A random update.

This is nearly the end of my first week at Northern Michigan University. I think it went pretty well all things considered. I have ended up making more … friends than I had originally expected. After living in Marquette for about 10 now, I’ve started to figure out a little more of what this will be like.
  First I think I should talk about dorm life. It is different. One minute I’m in my own private settlement, reading a book or something. The next minute I’m standing in my bedroom doorway talking with a group of people I don’t know. Chatting it up like they’ve known me forever. It’s weird and sometimes kinda pleasant. Due to the fact I that my roommate has a girlfriend and ends up spending lots of time in her dorm, I actually get a lot more alone time than I expected. This is really nice for me. My dorm is a perfect place to be my alone and introverted self. A place to recharge my social batteries. However, although I can be happy with isolation and solitude, I do have a yearning for company. Occasionally a group in the dorm will assemble and spontaneously plan a trip somewhere. If I happen to be present, I will often receive an invite. Normally I probably would decline but this is where I’ll surprise myself by saying yes.  “SURE I’ll come with you guys” I might say to a fellow housemate.
  Basically I like it so far. This semester is going to be an interesting experience. I’m not sure what to expect. I think it’ll be better than I thought. I do miss my family though. A lot. I’ve been doing alright so far with putting the thoughts of home in the back of my mind. Although today I was scrolling through pictures I think and I had … Shall we say a brush of nostalgia. I feel like I’m holding back a pending sadnesses. It’ll be a while but I’m probably going to shed a tear or two do to missing some people.
I’m so tired, but I have to talk about one more thing.
  So I REALLY like my calc instructor. He’s super awesome and incredibly  nice. He’s Canadian. Today I was struggling a lot with a particular math problem and so I decided to visit him in his office. He was so helpful and so patient. I really have been blessed this semester with a teacher I believe I can connect to. After he helped me, we ended up furthering our discussion of math by using the equations again in our own questions. After that we started discussing the philosophy behind math. I mentioned learning some this topic online through some of my favorite YouTubers like vHeart, Minute Physics and Numberphile. Turned out he also watches YouTube and had seen many of the videos I had seen. Our discussion turned from toy magnets to the three primary philosophical positions mathematicians typically hold. The Platonists, the Nominalists and the Fictionallists. Each of these are described quite well in NumberPhile’s video “Do numbers really exist?”. I was so excited and I think he was too. To refresh our memory he looked up the video and we watched most of it but didn’t finish because we kept pausing to discuss thoughts and opinions. We even touched on the question of how you define existence. I really hope my next visit ends with something like that again. This instructor is so cool.
I think I’ll sleep now.
I’ll check this post out for errors later.

Leave a Reply

