NMU orientation day 2. LP o9

UPDATE: This was started Tuesday and completed on Thursday morning.

Well gee. I thought yesterday was exciting. Today nearly blew it out of the water. I learned a lot today. Believe it or not, I feel as though a good portion of my learning was about myself. I did not know I was even capable of talking with so many different people and not feel like I’m being suffocated. I think I may have mentioned this briefly in my previous post but I am the epitome of introversion. I am a complete loner unless I feel or was invited to come forward and participate. This being the case, it was quite a surprise to me when not only did I participate in many group things and allow my voice to be heard, I wanted to and remained very comfortable throughout. There was even a time where I was on the verge of raising my hand to join a group of students on stage in front of the relatively large audience of students. This place appears to the effecting me. I’m not sure if it’s for the better but I do believe I feel more confident here.
    There was a time today where I did feel extremely uncomfortable. While meeting in the morning at the small groups, the leaders asked …. Well .. More like demanded the us to cheer and yell at the top of our lungs. This was intended to liven up the group a little but I ended up growing quite small and slid my chair back from the majority of the crowd. I blame no one but myself for the discomfort here though. It is I who need to work on my participation skills.
Later in the day I met with my advisor who was very helpful and attentive. I can tell he likes and does his job very well. When I asked, he pointed out where I could find the department for my major I am in. (Which is computer science) I went down there and had the pleasure of meeting with a professor. He was more then helpful in answering all questions about the department, the classes and even liberal studies suggestion. I really hope he’s the Professor teaching my class. I haven’t verified yet.
There was a picnic on campus that I went to. I spoke with some of the orientation leaders on the way to the picnic then grabbed some food and went to sit alone behind a tree. This might seem and look sad to some but you must remember. Introverts process differently. If there’s one thing I’ve learned in life that is truly helpful and important, it is the need to take breaks. Regardless of this, many people still  treat shyness and introversion as one in the same. Just about the time I finished my food, an orientation leader spotted me and asked if I’d like to join in on Ultimate Frisbee. That sounded awesome and so I was really quite thrilled to have been invited. That kid should get a raise for doing such a good job and spotting the stragglers.
I would like to write about the organization fair but my eyes are closing involuntarily so I’ll have to write tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

