A trip to Marquette

As a future student the wonderful Northern Michigan University, I drove up to Marquette with my two sisters for my orientation today. I have always loved the upper peninsula and so now that I know I’m coming to live up here, it’s super exciting. And yet, I have some pretty extreme mixed feelings. I will be (for the first time in my life) living away from home, people I know, places I know and most of my family. Sure I’ll have my sisters in their house only a few miles away from my dorm, but that can hardly make up for me moving away from so much. I’m not exactly sure how I feel about the whole ordeal actually. On one hand, I feel as though I’m finally taking the wheel for my own life. On the other hand, I’m saying goodbye to nearly everything I know. I feel reluctant but certain. Jackson is not the place for me right now. I think, if nothing else, Marquette might just instill that desire for home that seems to be rather … weak right now. They say distance makes the heart grow fonder. I love Marquette but I was born in Jackson. I don’t know where I will settle down when the time comes but Jackson will probably never leave the list of potential places.
While talking with my sisters on the way up here, they gave some very insightful advice. I would like to quote what they Caytie said word for word but I’m not confident I have it perfectly right.
There comes a time where we need to find ourselves, experience things, learn about what we love, learn about who we love and what we want in life.
I believe my time for that has come. Wish me luck

Leave a Reply

